Latest News

First Recipient of Ivano Bertini Award: Stephen Cusack FRS


The Ivano Bertini Award recognises a significant achievement in frontier research that utilises an integrative structural biology approach. The first recipient of the award is Stephen Cusack FRS, Head of EMBL Outstation in Grenoble. His work on the structure of protein-RNA complexes and proteins involved in host-pathogen responses is groundbreaking and exemplifies the power of using integrated technology approaches in research. The Award is the first commemorating Ivano Bertini who developed powerful new methods in NMR and built up a world class Centre for Magnetic Resonance (CERM) in Florence. CERM was in the first group of major Centres in structural biology to form the Core structure of Instruct.
The Award of €15,000 is endowed by Bruker BioSpin which, together with Ivano, developed NMR instrumentation to broaden its application and increase measurement sensitivity.
Dr. Cusack will receive his award at the Instruct Biennial Conference in Florence on 20th May, and will speak about his research in a special Award presentation talk.